Welcome to Fort Osage R-1 School District
Believe to Achieve
Recent News
Upcoming Events


Our school offices are closed during the month of July.  The exception is the office at Fort Osage High School which will open on July 13.  If you need information, please contact our central office at 816-650-7000 Monday through Friday between 8:00 a.m. and 4:00 p.m.  

Our first day of school is August 18, 2015.  Information on back to school nights and new student registration can be found in our calendar or on our mobile app.  

Download the Free ParentLink App
About Us

Established in 1949, The Fort Osage R-1 School District is about 20 miles east of Kansas City, Missouri, and encompasses 132 square miles of Eastern Jackson County, including northeast Independence, the communities of Buckner, Levasy, Sibley, Atherton, and a portion of Sugar Creek, as well as many acres of unincorporated land.  The school district serves as a center to this unique blend of rural, small town, and suburban atmospheres.  The Central Campus, featuring the Fort Osage High School, Ninth Grade Center, Osage Trail Middle School, Career and Technology Center, and the Gragg Administration Center is located at 2101 North Twyman Road near the intersection of U.S. 24 Highway and Missouri Highway 7.  Fire Prairie Upper Elementary School is located east of the Central Campus.  The school district operates five elementary schools, an Early Childhood Center, and an alternative school, Lewis and Clark Academy.

Contact Us

  • Fort Osage Gragg Administration Center

  • Phone: 816-650-7000
  • Fax: 816-650-3888

    Follow us on Facebook at FortOsageSchoolDistrict
    Find us on Twitter @FortOsageSchool
    Connect with us on Pinterest